Openbravo ERP

Customizing the User Experience Using Preferences

Preferences are a cool feature in Openbravo that allow to customize the user experience across various levels. Preferences in general are nothing but default settings that we can enable for the whole application, per client, per organization, per role, per user or even per window. This level of customization allows us to personalize the Business Suite (also known as ERP) experience for each user. Here are our existing blogs on some of the preferences: Using preferences or Improvements in attachment model.

Here there is a preference configuration. Notice that there are two types of preferences. One using the Property and another using the Attributes. For more more information on this, visit the Openbravo wiki for Preference. In this blog, we are going to see some of these preferences which are more useful in live environments.

Preference

1. Disable notes for Read only tabs

This preferences allows us to disable notes section in read only tabs. Let’s see the Process Monitor window before the preference and after the preference.

Before Preference:

ProcessMonitor-BeforePreference

After Preference:

ProcessMonitor-AfterPreference

2. Allow multiple tabs of a window

This is one my favorite preferences. By default if a window is currently open and when we try to open the same window again, it will override the existing windows itself. We cannot open two tabs of the same window. This preference allows us to enable this option to open multiple tabs of the same window. For performance and general data integration reasons, it is better to avoid this. But if the customer wants this feature, it is just a preference away. Here is the output with multiple tabs of the same window.

MultipleTabs

3. Size of the recent list in quick launch and quick create

By default, the last 3 menus visited will be shown in the recent list in the quick launch and quick create menu. Now we can increase or decrease this by using this preference. Here is the output with the value set to 5.

Before Preference

RecentView-BeforePreference

After Preference

RecentView-AfterPreference

4. Allow Delete Records

This preference allows us to disable delete records option to a particular role or particular user or even to a particular window. In this example, we should how this can achieved to disable delete access to user ‘Openbravo’ for the window ‘Sales Order’

Preference Configuration

AllowDeletePreference

Sales Order after preference (Notice that the Delete button is disabled)

DeletePreference-SalesOrder

5. Refresh After Deletion

This is another important preference which should be rarely used, but becomes mandatory in some cases. When we delete a record, usually the record has child elements that are removed. In some cases, we perform certain operations thereby deleting a record will modify the data of another record in the same window. In these cases, the new data is not reflected, unless we refresh it manually. This preference allows us to enable auto refresh every time a record is deleted. Here is the screen shot of  the preference definition enabled for ‘Sales Order’ window. This preference should be used with caution as it will impact the performance of the application.

RefreshAfterDelete

These are just some of the preferences, some of other major preferences like ‘Direct Print’ and ‘Attach by Default’ are explained in the wiki.

In the next blog, we will see a more interesting and intelligent use of Preferences in Openbravo Web Pos. Please let us know if any of these preferences are not working properly.

Happy Working!!!

 

Previous post

Creating a Window using HQL Query in Openbravo

Next post

Impressions About the Global Day of Coderetreat 2015

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>